April 14, 2004

Web host comment spam

I've been getting comment spam from some alleged bloggers. I don't know exactly why I'm seeing comments like the following, but the "bloggers" are allegedly Americans posting from an Israeli IP. In addition, the main domains being advertised appear to be Web host businesses.

IP Address: 212.199.169.153
Name: Kevin Williams
Email Address: kevinwilliams4381@hotmail.com
URL: http://kevinwilliams.multiservers.com

Comments:

I have always looked for a possibility to find information as quick as I can. Now there is the internet. And I really appreciate people like you who take their chance in such an excellent way to give an impression on certain topics. Thanks for having me here.

http://kevinwilliams.multiservers.com Kevin Williams

Some other spammy URLs I've seen include http://davidtaylor.topcities.com, http://jordanand.topcities.com, and http://kevinford.t35.com.

Posted by joy at April 14, 2004 10:36 AM | TrackBack
Comments

Yes, I've been getting that too lately. I'm very tempted to take the URL out of people's comments.

Posted by: ucblockhead at April 14, 2004 10:53 AM

i got a couple of the davidtaylor ones and its now banned in my blacklist.

Posted by: Andy at April 14, 2004 04:22 PM

I just ended up disabling commments altogether. It's hilarious to see my activity log and the vain attempts made by a bot that doesn't want to stop. I might put them back, but I'm beginnning to think about developing some kind of "turing" number system to stop the automated ones. Then I'll just hunt down and kill the rest with my bare hands.

Posted by: colson at April 15, 2004 03:03 AM

On our server we renamed the mt-comments.cgi to something else and that helped fix out comments spam issue

Posted by: ben at April 15, 2004 11:55 AM

I've gotten maybe one comment spam since October 24, 2003.

Posted by: fluffy at April 18, 2004 10:24 PM