Brandwho?
There’s this little known company in Canada that apparently offers “brand management services” by presumably crawling the Web for specific content relating to their search engine challenged customers. Here’s a news release. The name of this company is Brandimensions.
I mention this company because I saw this wonderful referrer in my logs, and even better, the referrer log didn’t record what pages they were reviewing.
http://customers.brandimensions.com/CatSysWebApp/NextContent.aspx?contentid=2647773442
The customers.brandimensions.com URL brings one to a customer login page, where, I’m guessing, a customer could go and look up where their brand is being mentioned on the Web. In my case, apparently my blog was linked in their system in some context - I can’t see what context though, and that bothers me.
I’m not the only one who feels this way, take a look at this thread which explains what is going on.
Update: Oh, I see. Their crawler is starting to hit my site.
Host: 204.92.59.12
/robots.txt
Http Code: 200 Date: Jun 08 23:43:14Http Version: HTTP/1.1 Size in Bytes: 6629
Referer:www.brandimensions.com
Agent: BDFetch
Update 2: I’ve banned the brandimensions IP addresses from my site.
Technorati Tags: Web, Internet, Web Marketing, Web Marketing done wrong
Subscribe to Cleverhack 

















July 6th, 2006 at 8:15 pm
I had the same bot hits and banned them as well. However, in my case the bot was using ip #216.183.91.18
November 17th, 2007 at 5:25 pm
I’ve had them as well. Will ban if they come back, pretty unfriendly tactics.